top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeamReidsville

NCHSAA to induct six into Hall of Fame in 2019

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. — The N.C. High School Athletic Association announced a six-member class that will join the NCHSAA Hall of Fame later this year.

Delano "Cobby" Deans of Ayden, Stay Lail, Jr. of Rutherfordton, Terry Rogers of Morganton, Roland "Dixon" Sauls of Greenville, Woodrow "W.A." Wall of Reidsville, and Gerald Whisenhunt of Goldsboro will all be inducted into the NCHSAA Hall of Fame.

The new Hall of Fame class will be introduced during a press conference on Jan. 30 at 11 a.m. at the NCHSAA headquarters in Chapel Hill. The press conference can be seen live on and in the app.

A formal induction ceremony will be held on Saturday, Aug. 10, at Embassy Suites in Cary. Tickets for the ceremony will go on sale in May.

Below are biographies on each of the inductees from Reidsville:

Woodrow “W.A.” Wall Reidsville, NC

Woodrow “W.A.” Wall was the long-time Women’s Basketball Coach at Bethany and Rockingham County High Schools from 1959 to 1990. While at Bethany he also coached Baseball, Men’s Basketball, and Volleyball with much success. At Rockingham County he served as the Softball Coach for a time in addition to his Women’s Basketball duties.

Coach Wall’s tenure was highly successful, posting a 233-92 record in Women’s Basketball at Bethany prior to a 310-100 record at Rockingham County. His teams won 14 conference championships, many during a time when Women’s Basketball did not hold a State Championship, posting a combined record of 543-192. His Men’s Basketball teams were similarly successful, winning three conference titles and compiling a 270-180 record. In baseball, his squads were 160-60 with six conference championships. Softball teams under Wall also won six conference titles with a record of 188-70.



bottom of page